Cooking For Tuesdays

Just a little of what I like to cook.

TWD pecan sticky buns

on May 22, 2012

Photobucket

yes, i’m a week late posting this. my life took a turn i never expected. i am dedicating this post to my mom, deborah kay perry, november 14, 1957 to may 12, 2012. i love you very much, and i miss you even more than i ever thought i could miss anyone.

Photobucket

when i made the hungarian shortbread, i snuck some to her, and she was looking forward to this recipe. unfortunately, she passed the day i was going to start it.

my yeast would not work. i started this recipe 3 times and no rise from it. at all. so, after buying new yeast, it finally rose. i wish i had pictures of it! lol, it was pretty funny.

i went to my husband’s aunt’s house. she has a nice kitchen aid mixer, thankfully. otherwise, i would not have been able to do this recipe.

Photobucket

this was by far the hardest recipe i think i have ever done. not because it was difficult, nor because my first 3 attempts did not rise, but because i hurt. my mom, the person i called about every day with some of the most inane things to talk about, rants, kids, whatever, was gone. suddenly. so, between trips to the funeral home and her house and family, i pushed myself to make these buns!

Photobucket

she would have made me make them anyway.

Photobucket

Photobucket

i was a little disappointed in them. they seemed a little bland to me, not as sweet as a cinnamon roll, which i expected them to taste like, i guess. the dough was great, flaky and layered, but was lacking something. or it may just have been me.

Photobucket

Photobucket

i gave 6 of the rolls to my grandma. they’re gone already! lol, she liked them,but then again, she likes anything baked.

Photobucket

Photobucket

7 responses to “TWD pecan sticky buns

  1. vrolok1977 says:

    http://eatdrinkmanwomandogscat.com/2012/05/15/sticky-buns-brioche-butter-and-another-tuesday-with-dorie/

    and

    http://cookiesonfriday.blogspot.com/

    are the hosts for this one. sorry about that!

    and sorry about the mismatched sized pics. not sure if it is just my computer or what.

  2. Erin says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss! The rolls did lack sweetness, I am in total agreement. If I am going to indulge in something so rich it must be absolutely over the top sinful. Wishing you healing days ahead.
    Erin

  3. Cathleen says:

    So sorry to hear of your moms passing. Your sticky buns look wonderful and I’m sure she would have loved them.

  4. vrolok1977 says:

    thank you both! i find myself wanting to ask her this or that about something in the house. sadly, i can’t šŸ˜¦ i miss her so very much, but she’s no longer sick and weak!

    • Ckay says:

      I’m so sorry about your loss. My thought are with you.
      I’ve lost my mom on June 14th last year. She died of cancer after fighting hard during 3 years.
      The only things that helps me going on is the thought that she no longer suffer and is watching down on me!
      So, now they are both watching down on us…and we’d better behave šŸ™‚
      But that emptiness I feel inside, I think it won’t never go away.
      It’s baking and cooking and blogging that helps me to “fill” my mind…
      I wish you and your family from the bottom of my heart sooo much strength and send you my love. Bless you all.

  5. Cher says:

    I am sorry to hear about your loss.
    The kitchen is usually my place of refuge in times like that. I hope you are finding some comfort there or wherever you can. Hugs

  6. vrolok1977 says:

    thank you, cher and ckay. it’s a little easier now, knowing that she is gone. it isn’t any less sad or lonely, but i’m not crying every 5 seconds. lol, i find myself wanting to call her and rant about the latest family drama. or call her about the silly things my kids say that i know she will get a kick out of. she was a wonderful person and the best mama i could have ever asked for. no, she didn’t always get along with people, but she made up to them and never held a grudge. she always spoke her mind, and the funny thing is, i hate conflict. however, i have found that since she is gone, i have been speaking my mind more and more often without caring what people think. well, with tact, but still speaking my mind! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

